Alysun Sanders

Enter the mind of an aspiring author!

I Have Returned!

on February 27, 2017

Hey to all my loyal readers (ha)! I have returned to my blog at long last. I know, I know. You’re all probably thinking, “Whoa… she’s still writing? She hasn’t fallen off the face of the earth?” Ha. No. No, I have not. See, the thing is… I was a college student. And not just ANY college student. I was a college student majoring in English Literature. And because I was majoring in English Literature, I never had time to do anything. EVER. But I can’t even use school as an excuse anymore. I graduated back in May. So… why haven’t I been on here?

There are several reasons, really. But I think the biggest reason (outside of school) is guilt. I’ve been working on this trilogy for several years now, and I’m currently supposed to be working on the last book in it, which I have titled The Fallen One. The problem is, it just doesn’t want to be written. I got about halfway through it when my mind went totally blank. And I’ve tried to force it, but… nothing ever happens. I carry my journal with me everywhere I go, just in case. But no inspiration ever comes. It’s highly frustrating.

But that’s not where the guilt comes from. The guilt comes from me cheating on that book with another book. Yes, you read that correctly. I am working on another book. And, as a matter of fact, I finished that other book back in November. I’m currently editing it and getting it ready to be read by agents and publishers and all that jazz. Am I still working on the trilogy? Yes…. I am. I’m just waiting for the inspiration to strike. It’s been awhile, but this isn’t my first case of writers block. I had a terrible case of it with the second book in the series, The Damned Goddess. I got over it. And I’ll get over this, too. Eventually.

Another reason I haven’t been blogging is because… well, to be honest, it was nice not to HAVE to do something for a change. I graduated from school, and I felt like a free bird. Everyone kept asking me if I was going to continue on with my MA. Right now that’s a big old MA…ybe. Not sure about that yet. Still enjoying my free bird status. But I am kind of missing the whole writing thing. So here I am, after over a year of being away. Ready to start writing on here regularly at last.

You know what’s funny? I had a plan. In December, just before I quit the job I’d been working at for about five years, I had an idea. On my Kindle are about 50 books (maybe more… that’s just a guesstimate, really) that I’ve bought over the years that have remained unread. And you know what? I was going to start reading them. One book at a time. So what happened to that idea? Life. Life happened. I went through a bad breakup that lasted about a month, and during that month I was very depressed. It was hard to think about writing anything. But that was in December. What’s been going on since then?

Like I said…. Life. I got a new job working as a receptionist (sort of), and it’s full time. I come home every night totally pooped. No time for writing. No time for anything. Just eating and sleeping. That’s it. But I’m tired of that. I need to make time for this. I want to go back to my Kindle plan. Or the Kindle Quest, as I called it back in December when I was thinking about it. Tomorrow I will pop in to give a full list of the books on my Kindle that I haven’t read yet. The books that I plan on reading over time.

Now, my goal is to read at least 12 books this year. And I plan on blogging my progress with each book, and then writing a full review of the book when I’m finished with it. The goal is to be a writer, and that’s what I’m going to start doing. Of course, there will be books that I read that are NOT part of the Kindle Quest. I’ll most likely just talk about them in my day-to-day blog posts. Maybe I’ll review them, too. We’ll see. Either way, I’m going to start keeping up with this blog way more. I’m thinking twice a week will be my bare minimum. But I’m hoping for more. Just depends on… well, life.

Okay, so… until next time (which will be sooner this time, I promise)!

Much love,
~Aly

Leave a Reply

