Alysun Sanders

Enter the mind of an aspiring author!

Staycations and Good Reads

on June 11, 2013

Hey guys. I’m sorry I didn’t post all week last week. There were a few things going on that I had to take care of, and they managed to keep me away from my laptop for almost the entire week. They have also kept me away from working on the new book, which I began working on again last night. I stayed up until three o’clock in the morning writing, trying to catch up on the time that I’ve let go by. I know that I’m going in the right direction with the book, I just have to stay on track.

It’s hard to stay on track, though, when you have a sick little niece staying with you. Yup, that’s right. My four year old niece had a cold last week, and it was my week to watch her. So I did a lot of babying last week, along with playing a lot of Minecraft and cooking a lot of toast with no butter, jam, or peanut butter. Just toast. Dry. Blegh. But that was all she would eat. No appetite for anything else. It wasn’t until the middle of the week that I actually got her to eat something fairly substantial. Now she’s back to normal, and everyone else is sick.

I managed to escape this plague, but barely. I did have a fever last Monday, but it only lasted a day and a half. I’m pretty sure my body fought it off, thank goodness. It’s not like I ever want to get sick. But I really can’t get sick now. My boyfriend leaves for work again in a few days, and I would like to be healthy for the rest of the time that he’s here. No colds, flus, or other bugs. Must avoid at all costs. Even as my poor mommy is lying on the couch, coughing and trying to recover. Hand sanitizer for DAYS!

My boyfriend is another reason I haven’t been able to post. We actually went out of town for a day, staying at a nice little hotel in the city to get away from it all. You know… we took a staycation, which is apparently a vacation that happens at home. It was a lot of fun! The hotel we stayed at had a pool and a hot tub, and we had a nice conversation with a woman about England and music and a bunch of other topics. The next morning we woke up and got ready to go to the local theme park. We had lunch, went to the magic show, and rode a couple rides (he rode more than I did, because I’m a big wimp). It was fun, and I went home that night completely sun zapped. Another excuse for not writing.

Also, and I hate to admit this… but I have been really involved in this amazing book. It’s called The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen, and for the last few days I haven’t been able to put it down. I finally finished it last night, and it was every bit as good as I expected. I’ve been a big fan of the Sarah Dessen books since my friend Stephannie (readers of my book might recognize the name) bought me The Truth About Forever a few years ago. Ever since then I have been hooked. My four favorites, not in any particular order, are Just ListenThis Lullaby, Along for the Ride, and Dreamland. Fantastic summer books!

I’m now trying to read Dan Brown’s new book, Inferno. I was working on it earlier today, but I’m kind of struggling to get involved in the plot. This happens a lot with his books, but once I’m involved, there is no stopping me until I finish it. Once I finish with his book, I plan on keeping the promise I made to my best friend and reading the first in Rick Riordan’s trilogy The Kane Chronicles. Not sure what the heck I’m going to read after that. Maybe The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I’ve heard that’s a good one, and I enjoyed the movie. Might as well read the book.

So that’s what’s been going on with me. Hopefully I’ll be back on Wednesday with another entry, but if not, please know that I’ll be back soon. A lot of craziness going on, and I’ll explain more soon. So I guess I’ll talk to you all later. Have a good night!
Love,
~Alysun

Leave a Reply

