Alysun Sanders

Enter the mind of an aspiring author!

Final Edits and Tweaks

on June 14, 2012

So I’ve been sitting on the couch in my living room for five hours going through my manuscript trying to edit anything that I can possibly find. It’s been going well, but frankly, I’m exhausted. Editing is NOT my favorite part of the writing process, and yet it seems to be the most extensive part. Hopefully I’ll have someone to do most of it for me someday, but until that day comes I shall sit on my couch and continue. At the moment, however, I need a small break. There’s only so much a person can read about creepy spiders before they start to see them out of the corners of their eyes. Does that even make any sense? Eh, it’s 2am… I’m sure I’ll be forgiven if it doesn’t.

Okay, so I’m going to take a break from talking about my book to talk about the ones I’ve read so far this summer… or spring. I guess it’s not quite summer yet. Oh well. It’s very hard for me to read throughout the school year, because I’m so busy reading my text books that I don’t have much time to read anything for my own entertainment. But this summer I’ve read a few that I have just loved so far, and since I’m one of those people that become OBSESSED with certain stories, I figured this would be a great place to share my love for them. Again, does that line make sense? Agh!

First of all, the Percy Jackson Series by Rick Riordan is AMAZING! I’m not going to lie, I read most of those books the last month of the school year, and yes, I know they’re for children, but they are just fantastic. His second series (which also features Percy) is turning out to be just as good. I can’t wait for the next one to come out this fall. I’ve already read the first chapter and stared at the front cover for what felt like forever. You think if I looked at it long enough it would just appear in my hands? No? Oh well. I guess I’ll just have to practice my patience.

I also just finished reading The Night She Disappeared by April Henry. Now, I must say, if you haven’t read her yet, YOU MUST! She’s incredible. My niece has been anxiously awaiting this book for months, and I finally bought it for both of us on my Kindle last week. She has been reading it all night, and I’ve barely had a chance to talk to her. Amazing book. Before that I read Eyes of Justice by Lis Wiehl and April Henry, which is the fourth in the Triple Threat Series. I laughed, I cried (mostly cried), and then longed for more. I’ve recommended these books t so many people, and I will continue to do so FOREVER! I want so badly to own them myself (I only own two), and someday I will.

At the moment I’m reading The Clan of the Cave Bear, one of my mom’s favorite books. I’m not very far into it right now. Just barely in chapter two, but so far it’s pretty good. The series is so long though, and I’m a slow reader. I hope I can get them all finished by the end of the summer, although I know that, at the rate I’m going, I won’t get them finished by the NEXT summer.

All right, so that’s all I have to say tonight. I guess that’s how this blog will work for me. I’ll come on here and talk about whatever is on my mind to avoid whatever it is I’m working on, and then I will leave you all with your thoughts. I know right now there probably aren’t many of you, if any at all, but I’m hoping someday there will be hundreds, maybe thousands, who read this. Dreams… they’re magical things. Okay, so I really should get to bed now. Goodnight! Or… good morning…?

Lots of love,
~Alysun

Leave a Reply

